Good Bye, Meg!

From the New York Times:

Madeleine L’Engle, who in writing more than 60 books, including childhood fables, religious meditations and science fiction, weaved emotional tapestries transcending genre and generation, died Thursday in Connecticut. She was 88.  (Read the NY Times article here.)

Madeleine L’Engle was one of the truly great women of the last century, in my opinion.  I was introduced to her by my sixth grade teacher at Brockton Park Elementary School in West Los Angeles, California, when she required our class to read A Wrinkle in Time.  I loved the book!  Since that first reading, I’ve re-read it (and the books which followed it and completed the story) four times.  It may be called a piece of “juvenile” fiction, but this adult finds something new and profound in it each time I read it.

Ms. L’Engle wrote many other books and I’ve read many of them, too.  I never failed to learn something reading what she wrote.  She was one of the best of Anglicanisms good writers.  I recommend her works.  I’m saddened that there will be no more.

She said once that she was Meg, the principal character in Wrinkle and its sequels.   So it seems most fitting to say, “Good bye, Meg!”

May she rest in peace and rise in glory!

Leave a comment

Filed under Anglican Comment, Christian Stuff, Episcopal, Theology

Leave a Reply

