Kenya

Episcopal Life Online today includes an Ecumenical News Service report on a plane crash in Cameroon which happened early this week:

Africa’s main grouping of churches is trying to comfort the families of victims of a Kenya Airways plane crash in Douala, Cameroon, and a Muslim group has called for a full probe into the tragedy, in which 114 people are believed to have died.

We heard about this as we drove across the middle part of the country through pouring rain earlier in the week after attending our son’s graduation celebrations. My ears perked up at the mention of Kenya, as Patrick intends to go to Kenya this summer as part of a team doing a medical mission.

International travel has never been a matter of stress for me when I’ve done it myself. Why should I worry when my child is about to do it? Must be some parental instinct….

Anyway, I pray for his safety. And I pray for the repose of the souls of those killed in the Kenya Airways crash, and for comfort for their families. Perhaps Patrick will cross paths with some of those survivors. If so, I pray it will be an encounter of strength, comfort and growth for both.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

